Dungeon_23

One of this years ‘do a thing every day’ things is #Dungeon23. I prefer to write it as Dungeon_23, because I think it looks better. Can’t say why, I just do. Don’t read too much into it.

Anyhoo, since worldbuilding for RPGs is one of my top 3 things in the world to do (the others being Acting! and Science!), and since I’ve spent every day since Christmas messing around with all the pretty pencils and pens my wife got me, I figured I might actually have a decent shot at this one.

The actual Dungeon23 challenge (or whatever it’s called) concerns building a megadungeon throughout the year by creating one room every day. Now while that does sound fun, it also sounds kinda unplayable and potentially a bit monotonous. So instead, I’m just going to try and create ‘something RPG’ every day. So far it’s been a couple of small dungeon levels, a cave system, the beginnings of two island maps, a list of Hobgoblin soldier trials, and a forgotten Hobgoblin War God. Oh, and a dungeon room. In the future, there will most likely be space/sci-fi stuff, because I currently have both a ‘classic fantasy’ world and a science fiction world (galaxy?) in semi-playable states of creation.

Or, you know, it’ll fall by the wayside and I’ll forget this blog exists for another six years. In the meantime, however, here’s some of what I’ve churned out so far.

Oh, also, I finished my PhD. It was awesome! 🙂

This entry was posted in Digital Media, Gaming, Inspiration, Roleplaying Games, Things That Make Me Happy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dungeon_23

  1. talaraska says:

    Great maps! I’ve held off on dungeon23 (er Dungeon_23) for fear that I just wouldn’t have enough time to devote to it. I think you’ve chosen a wise path. Happy New Year!

Leave a comment