My Pen Is Idle, But My Camera Works

Well, it has been a fun filled holiday. Needless to say, I haven’t written much while here in the blog-y sense. Most nights, after getting home I’ve been more in the mood to veg in front of crazy US TV, swim in the pool or sleep.

I do hope to put down in words some of the truly incredible and inspirational experiences of the past week or so, but in the meantime:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’d also like to mention (in part, because I want to enter a competition and this is how I go about it), that one of things I’ve particularly enjoyed during this holiday is seeing all these theme park rides through new eyes.

I’ve mentioned before that one of the hobbies I’d love to devote more time and effort to is prop building; specifically I want to make some of the shiny cool items I’ve seen in games I’ve played, build my own original works and make replicas of some of my favorite TV and movie props.

The queue lines on some of the rides here are incredible; notably ‘Jaws’, ‘The Revenge of The Mummy’, ‘Jungle Cruise’ and, frankly, the whole of ‘The Wizarding World of Harry Potter’. The sheer attention to the smallest detail, coupled with an understanding of what people look closely at (compared to what they actually see) is incredible.

I can’t wait to get home and start building stuff!

This entry was posted in Florida 2010, Things That Make Me Happy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Pen Is Idle, But My Camera Works

  1. Roy says:

    Would now be a good time to mention that I am ridiculously jealous?

    • Greyfried says:

      As good a time as any. πŸ™‚
      Though you might want to wait till I tell you that I’m going back to Sea World tomorrow and then to Gatorland on Saturday. πŸ˜€
      I’ll try and bring you back a baby gator that you can flush down the toilet when it gets too big so that it ends up growing enormous on toxic waste before crashing through the streets of Edinburgh on a bloody rampage.

Leave a comment